Cooperation in Countering Artemisinin Resistance in Africa: Learning from COVID-19

View More View Less
  • 1 University of California, San Francisco, California;
  • | 2 Malaria Group, University of Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden;
  • | 3 Mahidol Oxford Tropical Medicine Research Unit, Bangkok, Thailand;
  • | 4 Malaria Research and Training Centre, University of Science, Techniques and Technologies, Bamako, Mali;
  • | 5 Department of Medical Parasitology, Faculty of Medicine, Pharmacy and Dentistry, L’Université Cheikh Anta Diop, Dakar, Senegal;
  • | 6 Centre for Tropical Medicine and Global Health, Nuffield Department of Medicine, University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom;
  • | 7 WorldWide Antimalarial Resistance Network and Infectious Diseases Data Observatory, Oxford University, Oxford, United Kingdom;
  • | 8 World Health Organization African Regional Office, Accra, Ghana;
  • | 9 Wellcome Sanger Institute, Hinxton, United Kingdom;
  • | 10 Fondation Congolaise pour la Recherche Médicale, Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo;
  • | 11 Institute for Tropical Medicine, University of Tübingen, Tübingen, Germany;
  • | 12 Global and Tropical Health Division, Menzies School of Health Research, Charles Darwin University, Darwin, NT, Australia;
  • | 13 South African National Institute for Communicable Diseases, Johannesburg, South Africa;
  • | 14 Wits Research Institute for Malaria, School of Pathology, University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa;
  • | 15 University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania;
  • | 16 Department of Clinical Sciences, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, Liverpool, United Kingdom;
  • | 17 Kenya Medical Research Institute, Centre for Global Health Research, Kisumu, Kenya;
  • | 18 Institut de Recherche en Sciences de la Santé, Nanoro, Burkina Faso;
  • | 19 Division of Clinical Pharmacology, Department of Medicine, University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa;
  • | 20 WorldWide Antimalarial Resistance Network, Pharmacology Scientific Module, Department of Medicine, University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa

Author Notes

Address correspondence to Philip J. Rosenthal, University of California, Box 0811, San Francisco, CA 94946. E-mail: philip.rosenthal@ucsf.edu

Authors’ addresses: Philip J. Rosenthal, University of California, San Francisco, CA, E-mail: philip.rosenthal@ucsf.edu. Anders Björkman, Malaria Group, University of Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden, E-mail: anders.bjorkman@ki.se. Mehul Dhorda, Arjen M. Dondorp, and Nicholas J. White, Mahidol Oxford Tropical Medicine Research Unit, Bangkok, Thailand, E-mails: mehul@tropmedres.ac, arjen@tropmedres.ac, and nickw@tropmedres.ac. Abdoulaye Djimde, Malaria Research and Training Centre, University of Science, Techniques and Technologies, Bamako, Mali, E-mail: adjimde@icermali.org. Oumar Gaye, Department of Medical Parasitology, Faculty of Medicine, Pharmacy and Dentistry, L’Université Cheikh Anta Diop, Dakar, Senegal, E-mail: oumar.gaye@ucad.edu.sn. Philippe J. Guerin and Laura Merson, Centre for Tropical Medicine and Global Health, Nuffield Department of Medicine, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK, and WorldWide Antimalarial Resistance Network and Infectious Diseases Data Observatory, Oxford University, Oxford, UK, E-mails: philippe.guerin@wwarn.org and laura.merson@ndm.ox.ac.uk. Elizabeth Juma, World Health Organization African Regional Office, Accra, Ghana, E-mail: jumae@who.int. Dominic P. Kwiatkowski, Wellcome Sanger Institute, Hinxton, UK, E-mail: dominic@sanger.ac.uk. Francine Ntoumi, Fondation Congolaise pour la Recherche Médicale, Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo, and Institute for Tropical Medicine, University of Tübingen, Tübingen, Germany, E-mail: ffntoumi@hotmail.com. Ric N. Price, Division of Global Health, Menzies School of Health Research, Darwin, Australia, E-mail: rprice@menzies.edu.au. Jaishree Raman, South African National Institute for Communicable Diseases, Johannesburg, South Africa, and Wits Research Institute for Malaria, School of Pathology, University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa, E-mail: jaishreer@nicd.ac.za. David S. Roos and Sheena S. Tomko, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, E-mails: droos@sas.upenn.edu and stomko@sas.upenn.edu. Feiko ter Kuile, Department of Clinical Sciences, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, Liverpool, UK, and Kenya Medical Research Institute, Centre for Global Health Research, Kisumu, Kenya, E-mail: feiko.terkuile@lstmed.ac.uk. Halidou Tinto, Institut de Recherche en Sciences de la Santé, Nanoro, Burkina Faso, E-mail: halidoutinto@gmail.com. Karen I. Barnes, Division of Clinical Pharmacology, Department of Medicine, University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa, and WorldWide Antimalarial Resistance Network, Pharmacology Scientific Module, Department of Medicine, University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa, E-mail: karen.barnes@uct.ac.za.

Save