A Lung Ultrasound Scanning Technique for Children and Adults in Low-Resource Settings: Preliminary Experiences in Sub-Saharan Africa

View More View Less
  • 1 Medecins Sans Frontieres, Switzerland;
  • | 2 Medecins Sans Frontieres, Juba, South Sudan;
  • | 3 Prisma Health University of South Carolina Medical Group, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, Columbia, South Carolina;
  • | 4 Department of Emergency Medicine, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington;
  • | 5 Department of Emergency Medicine, Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York, New York;
  • | 6 Medecins Sans Frontieres, New York, New York

Lung ultrasound is increasingly used as a diagnostic tool for pulmonary pathologies by nonspecialist clinicians in resource-limited settings where chest X-ray may not be readily available. However, the optimal technique for lung ultrasound in these settings is not yet clearly defined. We describe here our experience of implementing a standardized, focused six-zone, 12-view lung ultrasound scanning technique with a high-frequency probe in both adults and children in a resource-limited setting in sub-Saharan Africa. Our experience suggests that this may be a feasible technique to rapidly introduce lung ultrasound to new learners that can be adapted to emergency or outbreak settings. However, research is needed to determine how this technique compares with clinical examination and other available tests for the diagnosis of pathology commonly encountered in resource-limited settings.

Author Notes

Address correspondence to Adi Nadimpalli, Médecins Sans Frontières, 40 Rector Street, 16th Floor, New York, NY 10006-1751. E-mail: adi.nadimpalli@newyork.msf.org

Authors’ addresses: Matthew Fentress and Carla Schwanfelder, Medecins Sans Frontieres, Switzerland, E-mails: mfentress2010@gmail.com and carla.schwanfelder@geneva.msf.org. Phillip Ezibon and Akuot Bulabek, Medecins Sans Frontieres, Juba, South Sudan, E-mails: ezibon0@gmail.com and akuot1990@gmail.com. David Schrift, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, Prisma Health University of South Carolina Medical Group, Columbia, SC, E-mail: davidschriftmd@gmail.com. Sachita Shah, Department of Emergency Medicine, University of Washington, Seattle, WA, E-mail: sachita.shah@gmail.com. James Tsung, Department of Emergency Medicine, Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York, NY, E-mail: jtsung@gmail.com. Adi Nadimpalli, Medecins Sans Frontieres, New York, NY, and Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX, E-mail: adi.nadimpalli@newyork.msf.org.

Save