Case Report: Transmission of Dengue Virus from a Deceased Donor to a Kidney Transplant Recipient Previously Infected by Dengue Virus

View More View Less
  • 1 Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Félix Guyon, réanimation Polyvalente, Allée des Topazes, 97400, Saint Denis, France;
  • 2 Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Félix Guyon, Service de Microbiologie, Allée des Topazes, 97400, Saint Denis, France;
  • 3 Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Félix Guyon, Service de Néphrologie, Allée des Topazes, 97400, Saint Denis, France;
  • 4 Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Félix Guyon, Service de Réanimation de chirurgie cardio-thoracique, Allée des Topazes, 97400, Saint Denis, France

Since 2018, a dengue epidemic has been ongoing in the French overseas department of Reunion Island, in the Indian Ocean, with more than 25,000 serologically confirmed cases. Currently, three dengue serotypes have been identified in Réunion Island (DENV-1, DENV-2, and DENV-3) progressing in the form of epidemic outbreaks. This arbovirus is mainly transmitted by mosquitoes of the genus Aedes and may be responsible for serious clinical forms. To date, very few cases of kidney transplant–related dengue virus infection have been described. Here we report the first case of severe dengue virus infection related to kidney transplantation from a patient previously infected with dengue. Testing for dengue fever with PCR search in donor’s urine may help complete the pretransplant assessment in areas where this disease occurs.

Author Notes

Address correspondence to Arnaud Lecadieu, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Félix Guyon, Réanimation Polyvalente, Allée des Topazes, 97400, Saint Denis, France. E-mail: arnaud.lecadieu@gmail.com

Financial support: This work was internally funded.

Authors’ addresses: Arnaud Lecadieu, Laura Teysseyre, Kevin Larsen, Charles Vidal, Margot Caron, Jérôme Allyn, and Nicolas Allou, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Félix Guyon, réanimation Polyvalente, Allée des Topazes, 97400, Saint Denis, France, E-mails: arnaud.lecadieu@gmail.com, laura.teysseyre@chu-reunion.fr, kevin.larsen0511@gmail.com, charles.vidal@chu-reunion.fr, margot.caron@chu-reunion.fr, jerome.allyn@chu-reunion.fr, and nicolas.allou@chu-reunion.fr. Nicolas Traversier, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Félix Guyon, Service de Microbiologie, Allée des Topazes, 97400, Saint Denis, France, E-mail: nicolas.traversier@chu-reunion.fr. Ludovic Di ascia, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Félix Guyon, Service de Néphrologie, Allée des Topazes, 97400, Saint Denis, France, E-mail: ludovic.diascia@chu-reunion.fr. Thomas Aujoulat, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Félix Guyon, Service de Réanimation de chirurgie cardio-thoracique, Allée des Topazes, 97400, Saint Denis, France, E-mail: thomas.aujoulat@chu-reunion.fr

Save