Poultry Ownership and Genetic Antibiotic Resistance Determinants in the Gut of Preschool Children

View More View Less
  • 1 Francis I Proctor Foundation, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California;
  • 2 Centre de Recherche en Santé de Nouna, Nouna, Burkina Faso;
  • 3 Department of Ophthalmology, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California;
  • 4 Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California

Zoonotic transmission is likely a pathway for antibiotic resistance. Data from a randomized trial of pediatric antibiotic administration were secondarily evaluated to determine if poultry ownership was significantly associated with the presence of gut genetic antibiotic resistance determinants among 118 children in Burkina Faso. Antimicrobial resistance (AMR) determinants were classified using DNA sequencing. We measured the relationship between genetic resistance determinants and chicken ownership using a logistic regression model adjusted for confounding variables. Children in households reporting poultry ownership had four times the odds of tetracycline resistance determinants in the gut compared with those without household poultry (OR: 4.08, 95% CI: 1.08–15.44, P = 0.04). There was no statistically significant difference found for other antibiotic classes. Understanding the origins of antibiotic resistance may help spur the development of interventions to combat the global AMR crisis.

Author Notes

Address correspondence to Jessica M. Brogdon, Francis I Proctor Foundation, University of California, San Francisco, 490 Illinois St. Floor 2, San Francisco, CA 94158. E-mail: jessica.brogdon@ucsf.edu

Disclosure: All authors submitted the ICMJE Form for Disclosure of Potential Conflicts of Interest.

Financial support: This trial was supported by the National Eye Institute of the NIH under award K08EY026986 and by the Research to Prevent Blindness Career Development Award.

Authors’ addresses: Jessica M. Brogdon, Elodie Lebas, Lina Zhong, Cindi Chen, Thomas Lietman, Thuy Doan, and Catherine E. Oldenburg, Francis I Proctor Foundation, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, CA, E-mails: jessica.brogdon@ucsf.edu, elodie.Lebas@ucsf.edu, lina.zhong@ucsf.edu, cindi.chen@ucsf.edu, tom.lietman@ucsf.edu, thuy.doan@ucsf.edu, and catherine.oldenburg@ucsf.edu. Ali Sié, N. Clarisse Dah, Lucienne Ouermi, and Boubacar Coulibaly, Centre de Recherche en Santé de Nouna, Nouna, Burkina Faso, E-mails: alisie@yahoo.fr, n.clarissedah@yahoo.fr, ouermil@yahoo.fr, and boubacar@fasonet.bf. Jeremy D. Keenan, F.I. Proctor Foundation and Department of Ophthalmology, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, CA, E-mail: jessica.brogdon@ucsf.edu.

Save