Volume 10, Issue 3
  • ISSN: 0002-9637
  • E-ISSN: 1476-1645


At the annual meeting of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, held at Los Angeles, California, on Friday, November 4, 1960, in the presentation of the Walter Reed Medal to Sir Gordon Covell, Dr. Justin M. Andrews, Member of the Walter Reed Medal Committee, said:

Mr. President, members, and guests of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene:

The bestowal, at various appropriate intervals, of the Walter Reed Medal upon individuals widely known for their original researches in some aspect of tropical medicine was authorized by this Society in 1936. The Awards Committee was specified to consist of three past presidents of the Society. The present Committee is comprised of Dr. William Hays Taliaferro, Chairman; Dr. Frederick Brady; and me. Regrettably, neither of the other two members could be present at this meeting, so I am left with the pleasant responsibility of announcing our current choice of many potential candidates, and of presenting this award to him.


Article metrics loading...

The graphs shown below represent data from March 2017
Loading full text...

Full text loading...

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error