Volume 8, Issue 2_Part_1
  • ISSN: 0002-9637
  • E-ISSN: 1476-1645


Mr. President and members of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene:

The Walter Reed Medal Committee, composed of Doctor Andrews, Doctor Taliaferro, and myself, is pleased to nominate Doctor Willard H. Wright for the 1958 award. The nomination was unanimously approved by the Council of the Society; and I, as Chairman, have the honor to present the medal to Doctor Wright.

The first Walter Reed Medal was conferred in 1936. Recipients in the past include such names as William B. Castle, Herbert C. Clark, Carlos J. Finlay, Paul F. Russell, James Stevens Simmons, N. H. Swellengrebel, and Rolla E. Dyer. The Committee is most pleased to add Doctor Wright's name to this impressive list.

Willard H. Wright was born in Findlay, Ohio. He received the degree of Doctor of Veterinary Medicine at George Washington University in 1917 and began his career with the United States Department of Agriculture in 1919 as a practicing veterinarian.


Article metrics loading...

The graphs shown below represent data from March 2017
Loading full text...

Full text loading...

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error