Volume 7, Issue 4
  • ISSN: 0002-9637
  • E-ISSN: 1476-1645


To refresh the memory of those of you not familiar with the Joseph Augustin LePrince Award, I am reading a brief description of it which was contained in the first issue of “Tropical Medicine and Hygiene News” for this year, after which I shall have a few words to say concerning the recipient of this year's award.

“In his presidential address before the National Malaria Society in 1948 Dr. E. H. Hinman suggested ‘the propriety of establishing an annual lectureship or the award of a medal commemorating the outstanding achievements of a pioneer in the field of malariology.’ In 1949 the Committee on Lectureship and Award recommended the Joseph Augustin LePrince Award and the Award was established in that year by the National Malaria Society. Upon amalgamation of the National Malaria Society and the American Society of Tropical Medicine the Award was transferred to the new Society and the composition of the Award Committee was provided for in Article XII of our by-laws.


Article metrics loading...

The graphs shown below represent data from March 2017
Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Most Cited This Month

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error