Volume s1-25, Issue 1
  • ISSN: 0002-9637
  • E-ISSN: 1476-1645


The wartime activities in tropical medicine of the National Research Council began in May, 1940, with the appointment of the Subcommittee on Tropical Diseases in the Division of Medical Sciences. The original Subcommittee consisted of Dr. W. A. Sawyer, Chairman, Dr. M. F. Boyd, Dr. E. H. Hume, Dr. T. T. Mackie, Dr. R. B. Watson, and Dr. Henry E. Meleney. Since that time a number of changes and additions have been made in the membership of the Subcommittee. Dr. Meleney became Chairman in January, 1941, and the other members at the present time are Dr. M. F. Boyd, Dr. H. W. Brown, Dr. W. W. Cort, Dr. K. F. Meyer, Dr. G. K. Strode, Dr. W. H. Taliaferro, Dr. H. B. Van Dyke, Dr. R. B. Watson and Dr. A. A. Weech.

The functions of the Subcommittee have been to prepare directives for the treatment and prevention of tropical diseases, to make recommendations to the armed forces, and to initiate and supervise research.


Article metrics loading...

The graphs shown below represent data from March 2017
Loading full text...

Full text loading...

  • Received : 22 Nov 1944

Most Cited This Month

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error